INC MENTAL HEALTH ALLIANCE, NFP BOARD OF DIRECTORS MEETING Monday, September 25, 2023

MINUTES

Members Present: Evelyn Hull, Marilyn Jacobsen, James Otepka, Ken Rojek, Kenneth

Schultz, Eva Serrano, Caryn Spitzzeri, Joanne Tosch, TJ Vaughan, Tina

Willson, Michael Yagen

Members Absent: Denise Claessens, Denise Elsbree, John Whildin

Guests Present: Joel Grámirez, Carol Speckmann

Staff Present: Dalila Alegria, Colleen Balija, Ann Montgomery

The meeting of the Board of Directors of INC Board, NFP, for September 25, 2023, was called to order at 7:00 PM by President TJ Vaughan at the INC Mental Health Alliance office and via Zoom conference call. Roll call was completed verbally by the board members.

Vaughan asked for approval of the Agenda. Marilyn Jacobsen made the motion to accept the agenda, with a second by Kenneth Schultz. The motion was unanimously approved.

Under Introductions, Vaughan introduced new INC board member James Otepka and welcomed guests Joel Grámirez and Carol Speckmann.

Under Action Items, Vaughan asked for the approval of the Consent Agenda. Ken Rojek made a motion to approve and, with a second by Evelyn Hull, it was unanimously approved.

Rojek presented the Finance Committee meeting minutes and shared the results from the Finance Committee meeting with the auditor, recognizing that there were no modifications, and the INC Mental Health Alliance had another clean audit. A needed edit was noted on page 9, note 5 due to an error in lease language. Vaughan asked for the approval of the Audit with the noted change. Michael Yagen made a motion to approve and, with a second by Rojek, it was unanimously approved.

Operations Manager Colleen Balija presented the FY23 Annual Report draft. Balija highlighted that administration expenses continue to remain low at 4%. Vaughan asked for approval of the FY23 Annual Report. Jacobsen made a motion to approve, with a second from Eva Serrano, it was unanimously passed.

Rojek presented the prospective board member questionnaire for Carol Speckmann. Rojek recommended on behalf of the Nominating Committee that Carol Speckmann fill an At-Large vacancy on the board. A motion was made by Rojek with a second by Hull and it passed unanimously.

Vaughan presented the minutes of the Scholarship Ad-hoc Committee and their recommendations on options for scholarship opportunities to be implemented in FY25. Vaughan asked for approval of the Scholarship Committee Recommendations as presented. Yagen made a motion to approve and, with a second by Serrano, it was unanimously approved.

Under Discussion Items, Executive Director Dalila Alegria reported that the Federal and IL 990s were provided to the board as a handout via email and also available at the meeting for review. These will be posted on the website.

Balija gave a brief description of the recipients for both the Jerry J. Murphy Scholarship and the Ponquinette Minority Scholarship award.

Under Information Items, Alegria went through the ED Report and highlighted a few of the items and gave a legislative update.

Administrative Assistant Ann Montgomery reviewed the audited and unaudited Statistics. For the unaudited report ending 8/31/23, 3,169 residents received 14,480 units of service. For the audited FY23 report, Montgomery noted that 39,551 residents received 276,842 units of service.

Balija presented the FY23 year-end outcome report highlighting various agency outcome numbers.

Balija reported that INC has received \$1,871,794 in tax levies to date. This represents just over 86% of the total levy of \$2,163,602.

Under Open Discussion, Balija provided information on the Round Table Discussion meeting that will be chaired by Evelyn Hull and attended by representatives of the FY24 funded agencies. The final November date and location will be coming once finalized.

Balija also provided Committee opportunities that are available for new board members.

There being no further business to come before this board, Schultz motioned for an adjournment and a second by Hull, and it was unanimously passed to adjourn the meeting at 7:54 PM.

Respectfully submitted,

Marilyn Jacobsen, Secretary